One of the last classes I took before graduating college was Science, Technology, and Society. It was required for all students as it was a core class to get the liberal arts degree. I’m glad it was one of my last classes to take as I don’t think I would have appreciated it nearly as much otherwise. The professor instantly became one of my favorites. Had I been exposed to teachers like him in Jr High and High School, I might have explored science more deeply. But I didn’t.

We only had two books for the class. The one to mention here was Robert Pirsig’s Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance. One of the things I enjoyed about this book was that it explained the difference between Western thought and philosophy and Eastern thought and philosophy. But Pirsig doesn’t just give a comparison, he narrates a story of his friends, his son, and himself of taking a long road trip via motorcycles. Through the obstacles that happen on the trip we learn how the West and East approach and try to solve problems.

Honestly, I need to read this book again. It was very helpful transitioning me out of college into “real” life and I think it would be helpful as I sometimes feel stuck in places now.

Great read. Add it to your collection!

