One of the joyful times of being a current pastor.
One of the joyful times of being a current pastor.

Well… since my last post, a couple thing have happened.  I was fortunate enough to win the humorous speech contest and immediately humbled the next morning as I (felt like I) butchered the homily in my church service.  The high of facing deep competition and winning with a speech about dressing up for Halloween contrasting with giving a sermon about desperation knocked the wind out of me.  It was a great reminder that you cannot remain fixed on any one thing – be it good or bad.

This coming week, we will be cruising.  Still scared about that.

On a positive note, my Toastmaster conference (and some specific support in the following few days) have helped me to push forward in taking more opportunities to speak my story.  This is nothing new for me to consider, but I am starting the process to add being a professional speaker to my plate.  I also plan on self-publishing my first book within the next few months.  I have a few ideas in mind for some other projects, but decided that staying true to form, my first book should be about my transitioning from being a pastor to not being one.  Several of you have read the Former Pastor/Somewhat Minister series and I will be editing and adding to make it fit a more traditional book format.  I believe with this extra period of time, I have been graced with freedom from much of my bitterness and that my story might be helpful and hopeful for others.

