Some of my thoughts and observations on how I like and dislike the uses of Facebook:

One of my favorite things about Facebook is that I find I have friends all over the spectrum in various areas.  I find that many people I disagree with in principle say things of which I do agree.  I also find people that I agree with in principle say things that I vehemently disagree.  I like things that I like, usually things that follow a certain theme.

I don’t like a lot of religious oriented memes and whatnot.  As a former pastor, it might seem I’m bitter or whatever, but it has more to do that I don’t like trite statements about God and faith.  If “Let Go and Let God” has helped you, that’s awesome!  But I’m not going to like it.  (Crazily enough, non-spiritual/religious trite statement will generally be liked by me.  For me, they are little reminders that do not de-contextualize a passage of faith but still encourage me!).

Some people think that I’m liberal because of opinions they assume I have, but in terms of doctrine I am more conservative than those who think they are conservative.  On the other hand, my political opinion would accurately be considered liberal, but not because I’m politically liberal.  I am a conservative theologian who takes my theology very seriously.  In the world that I currently live in, my theology lines up on the “liberal” side of things politically.  I take seriously the concepts of Jubilee, humility, the least of these, and God being all in all.  I have only nominal interest in American politics regarding which side of the aisle I’m on.  I’m an independent.  My opinions on American political issues look a little wonky because of my system of reference.  I’m okay with that.

I like my local art scene.  I don’t get to experience it as much as I would like, but it is fun to see some of my musical favorites like the Feel Spectres, Jarvix and the Wurly Birds as well as some extremely, extremely talented musicians I have met at some open mic nights.  I’m a horrible art appreciator, because I like most of what I see.  That’s not completely true, but being a person who wishes my projects would match what’s in my mind, I enjoy seeing artists who portray what is in their mind’s eye.  I love seeing my Facebook friends share pictures of what’s going on in their neighborhood.

I like seeing people share their experiences.  I might have hated the trip to _____, but I love to see pictures of your experience there.  I love to hear what the trip was like for you.  I don’t expect everyone to like Disney (or even more specific Walt Disney World) as much as me, but I like that your trip was awesome for you.

I don’t like people complaining on Facebook.  Unfortunately, I unfriend a lot of people because of this.  A complaint here or there does not bother me.  If I see your name and immediately scroll away because I don’t want to read why life sucks for you today, I will probably unfriend you.  This goes for excessive unnecessary language as well.  Your Facebook account represents what you want it to, but it doesn’t mean I want it visible on mine.  Family usually gets a pass on this, but I have changed settings to limit their exposure to my eyes.

Generally speaking, I am for equality across the board.  I don’t always agree with what equality means, but I’m still for it.  When I see something about equality, I generally like it, no matter the source.  That does not mean I’m for _______.  It means I’m for equality.

I generally share most of my posts publicly.  I figure if the NSA already has the information, then nothing is too private (ha!).  But seriously, if someone wants to hurt me or someone close to me, they will be able to find me.  I find it a see-saw betweenfeeling free and feeling scared by sharing publicly.

Rainbow CloudI like taking pictures and modifying them through Snapseed or other photo editing apps.  It’s one of the few ways I feel artistic.  If you don’t like the pics, please do not tell me.

If you are my friend on Facebook, I assume that you actually want to read what I have to say.  I also assume that you want me to know about your life.

If you ask me to “like” your page, there is a 98% chance that I will.  Just don’t expect me to be active on it.  I already have enough on my plate.  If you “like” one of my pages, I expect you to be active on it… just kidding!  My pages are business related.  Just because we are friends, I don’t necessarily think (or expect) you to do business with me.  I would still like the ego-stroke of you liking my page, though.  I have a friend who works at the grocery store across town.  Though he might like to see my face, I doubt he expects me to drive 45 minutes just to buy a gallon of milk.  If you do business with me, that would be awesome!  If you don’t, I would like to think we are still friends.

I like those silly quizzes.  I know they are stupid, but I like them.  However, I will rarely share them.

I also loved watching all of the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge videos.  I was a little saddened that no one challenged me.  :/

Finally, I appreciate you taking the time to read this.  There are some exciting things coming up that I will try to mention next month. 🙂

 

P.S.  This is something that has been building up for a few weeks and is not reflective of anything over the past day or two.

