I am Dr Pepper-aholic.

This probably sounds like a joke, but it is not. I have a real, dare I say chemical, addiction to Dr Pepper (DrP). It provides me with a peace of mind, though not a peaceful one. DrP causes my body all sorts of fits. But I love it and when away from it for a few days I get sick and experience major withdrawals.

I’m not the kind to sue DrP. They didn’t cause my addiction. I take all responsibility for constantly contributing to the deterioration of my health. However, I suffer mood swings and whatnot if I don’t continue drinking it.

Some might say I simply have a caffeine addiction, but only DrP registers with my cravings. Coca Cola might serve as my impromptu methadone clinic, but DrP is in my blood.

I don’t remember how old I was when my dad started bringing me home a 12 oz bottle of Dr Pepper as a special prize of being his son, but it was awesome! Between that and a Butterfinger, I was the luckiest kid in the world. Over time, I drank DrP more and more. In the spring of 1996, I was drinking around 20-30 liters a week of DrP. That was in addition to the 10-15 liters of other soft drink I was drinking.

Sadly, I been without any DrP until starting this paragraph. My mind and senses feel much more in touch now. Had a co-worker not just offered me one, my mind would get groggy. Of course, now I will have a groggy mind after the sugar high. There was a time in my life that I was drinking so much that I could only get to sleep by taking a few sips.

Though I’m not proud of my addiction, it is something I will probably wrestle with for years.

20130925-134438.jpg

