Last week, I posted a photo to caption.  The winner was supposed to be announced this past Friday, but my recovery from lithotripsy still left me on pain meds and I was unable to post over the weekend.  Yesterday was my first day back at work in half a week and I had a lot of catch up.  Now I have the time and freedom to post.  So without further delay:

The winner of Becoming Oaks first ever Caption Contest is Stephen Frazier with this, “Creative solution to a hard problem.”

Creative solution to a hard problem.
Creative solution to a hard problem.

 

Stephen wins the option of either being a guest blogger in the future or deciding the topic matter that I will write about in a future blog.  Congratulations, Stephen!

 

There are so many things wrong with this photo.  In our world, we pay people to scream at us rather have them pay us.  Many personalities of AM radio, news stations, and whatnot provide screams for a price that many pay.

I am not quite sure why.  Maybe listening to these personalities stirs to memory the revival style evangelists screaming about the end and the world going to hell in a hand basket.  And if you think the world in these terms and is getting worse, maybe it is comforting to have a personality yell at you.

The man in the picture is genius (at least Steve Jobs should have appreciated it, as it fits the “Think Different” ad), though I imagine not very profitable.  I haven’t seen him back there with the sign since.

I think the world is a better place today than it has been in the past.  Things have changed and standards have risen, but I think overall, we are in a good place going in a positive direction.  Is literally everything better?  No.  But well over the majority is better, in my opinion.

Do you think the world is better off today than the past?  Join the discussion in the comments, Facebook, or Twitter!

