Over the past week, I had made an attempt to walk a mile or two every day in addition to my normal, pace-filled life at work.  Every morning, the clock on my phone reminded me that I am getting up at 5am instead of my usual 6:30am time.

After four days of doing really well, I attempted to do the same on Monday morning.  I got to the trail, took five steps, and then I nearly collapsed!  The pain in my right foot solidly reminded me of a Jones fracture I had in my left foot 16 years ago.

However, I conveniently ignored it, thinking I just needed to rest it a bit.  Each day, it progressively got a little worse, until last morning when my wife saw me almost collapse walking just a few steps to the bathroom.  The look on her face was a bit frightening.

For some reason I thought it would be better to wait until next week before I would call the doctor. *  The sensational pain I was feeling while working yesterday morning made me change my mind.  Fortunately, there was an open slot and I was there by noon.

My doctor was pretty sure it was a stress fracture, which would make sense on my recent walking escapades.  I later went to get an x-ray and went back to work.  About two hours later, information came my way telling me that the x-ray came back clean and I need a good pair of sneakers.  This is somewhat disturbing as having a stress fracture would give a clear cut way to heal.  With just needing better shoes, I still do not know what is wrong.

One positive thing through all of this is that I realize when I have howling pain, I do not write very much.  So I am going to separate my blog writing to Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.  This should also cut out the chances of writer’s block.  Until Monday, I hope the breaks in life are good to you.

 

* This might be one of my biggest downfalls.  I take forever to make doctor appointments.  Don’t get me wrong, I like visiting the doctor, I just don’t like setting appointments.  Booking ability (another name for setting appointments), or my lack thereof, has contributed to not maximizing the DJ business I was once involved.  I think this might be a skill I need to learn.

