Putnam City North Panthers

8: Would you rather be a member of a world championship sports team or be the champion of an individual sport?  Which sport would you choose?

As cool as it is to be a champion of an individual sport, there is something greater of being apart a championship team.  I say this with a tiny bit of experience.  Between my junior and senior years of high school, I was fortunate enough to play on our school’s football team to challenge for the state championship as well as qualifying for the state championship in discus.  In neither instance did I obtain the official title of champion, but I know which would have meant more – the football team.

Getting to the state championship in track was special, but I felt goofier than normal.  Track and field events are generally individual efforts.  If one were the absolute best, than maybe this would be the showcase.  For me, I enjoyed that the sum of individuals in football was greater.  Each and every game, especially in the playoffs, increased in intensity as we won one game after another.  In the state championship game, we lost handedly to one of the top teams in the nation.  The joy of getting there was fantastic.  To qualify for track and field, one just needed a good showing at regionals.  To qualify for football, a team needed at least a winning conference record and three playoff wins.

In track, I had one lucky throw.  In football, our team overcame luck and created some of our own.  My memories are also much more pleasant in football than in track.  My mind made heroes out of teammates.  To this day, I still think fondly of our team.  As for track, which helped me out in college with a scholarship, not so much.

I think the team sport I would want to champion is still football.  If I were to do individual, I think wrestling would be an amazing championship to have.

