6: You discover your wonderful one-year-old child is, because of a mixup at the hospital, not yours.  Would you want to exchange the child to try to correct the mistake?

Yes, because as soon as I hear about the mix-up, I will think that all of the things that were wrong with my wonderful child will be defects from my biological child.  I will convince myself that things would be better if I had my own flesh and blood.  Though it would be tortuous, I would fight to have my child back!

However, it would be much easier to not exchange.  I mean, sure, biological child will have some weird psychological issues if they ever found out we did not want them, but I am sure that could be worked out somehow (sarcasm).

At the very least, we would find out if it were possible to have both kids.  My wife and I have never been opposed to adopting.  We would also not consider the mix-up a mistake.  One year spent loving a child is never a mistake.  Would we want our biological child back?  Absolutely!  Would we give back the wonderful child?  That is the harder question for me.  If I had to choose right now one or the other, my heart would break as I believe I would choose our biological child.

My beautiful daughter

