To help practice writing more, I will be working through Gregory Stock’s “Book of Questions.” (BoQ)

#1: For a person you loved deeply, would you be willing to move to a distant country knowing there will be little chance of seeing your friends or family again?

Let us say the person I loved was my wife. If she had a good reason to move within the next month and we were able to take our young daughter, then my answer would be yes. No hesitation on my part. If I had them, I would sacrifice everything else.

The question for me is, “what qualifies as a ‘good’ reason?” Studying abroad and work situations would definitely qualify. What other reasons would we leave?

If she were determined to move, it would be easy for me to do the same. She loves her family so much that she would hardly ever consider an opportunity to do that. So, if she was determined, then it would have to be a wonderful reason.

What if we couldn’t take our daughter? Well, that would be a tougher decision at present because of our daughter’s age. As much as u love my wife, I love my daughter just as much and I would feel a sense of duty to take care of her. I would try to support my wife as best as possible and hope that Skype would work in whatever country she ended up.

